Applications

 

The Solution for stream encryption

 

We offer a unique solution - MALT-C, which is C/C++ programmed chip with the dissipation power of an embedded microprocessor. The MALT-C’s performance-per-watt is as high as FPGA’s used on all popular stream ciphers. More than that, the value of MALT-C is competitive with the value of a universal processor! There hadn’t been a microprocessor of such characteristics designed in Russia before!

 

Designed on MALT-C’s processor, the cryptographic accelerators are intended to solve the tasks of symmetric encryption including stream ciphers. The most preferable processing is multi-channel. Our processors are designed on the trusted local architecture. At the end of 2017 we got our first MALT prototypes in silicon from the factory which were successfully tested.

 

Look at the characteristics: the basic chip - 160-core MALT-C with an index of 7Mb160PLV, with frequency of 1 GHz and peak power consumption of 5W provides the maximum throughput of 195 kbps in the AES128 encryption task (ECB mode, not including the generation of the key). It effectively implements the encryption of such standards as GOST 28147-89 ("Magma"), GOST R 34.11-2012 ("Stribog") and GOST R 34.12-2015 ("Kuznechik"). Try MALT! Apply MALT-C instead of foreign FPGA and cryptographic coprocessors in your projects! Get the detailed comparison in the table below.

 

The table The comparison of the throughput of MALT-C 7Mb160PLV with CPU, GPU and specialized integrated systems on various encryption algorithms. The data doesn’t include the generation of the key, the block ciphers are used on stream encryption mode.

Algorithm 7Mb160PLV
Gb/s
CPU, Gb/s GPU, Gb/s ASIC, Gb/s
GOST R 34.12-2015
"Kuznechik"
10 Intel Core i7-3537U(1)
0.12
NVIDIA GeForce GT750M (1)
2.2
 
GOST 28147-89
"Magma"
120 Intel Xeon E5 2697 v3(2)
22
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750(2)
21.2
 
AES 128 195 Семейство Intel Xeon E5v2 (3)
50
NVIDIA GTX 1080(4)
280
 
RC4 160     Result of the modelling (5)
30.72
Salsa20 444   NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590(6)
43.4
 
Chacha20 364 Intel Core i7-6700(7)
19
  ChaCha-IP-13(8)
12.8

 

Notes:

1) Увеличение скорости работы алгоритма шифрования «КУЗНЕЧИК» с использованием технологии CUDA.

2) Производительность ГОСТ-шифрования на х86- и GPU-процессорах.

3) AES-GCM Encryption Performance on Intel® Xeon® E5 v3 Processors.

4) High Performance CUDA AES Implementation: A Quantitative Performance Analysis Approach.

5) High-Performance Hardware Implementation for RC4 Stream Cipher.

6) New Speed Records for Salsa20 Stream Cipher Using an Autotuning Framework on GPUs.

7) AES-NI SSL Performance.

8) ChaCha-IP-13 / EIP-13 ChaCha20 accelerators.

Get more information about these and other sources in the “Articles” section.

 

 

 

The Solution based on MALT. The stream encryption accelerator

 

One of the examples of MALT hardware implementation is a stream encryption accelerator for PCI bus. It is intended for the on-the-fly encryption of the data, which transmitted by one of three directions: PCIe -> 10G Ethernet, 10G Ethernet -> PCIe or PCIe -> PCIe, therefore, it can be represented as a PCIe bus network encoder/decoder or as a PCIe bus stream encryption accelerator. The module represents a half-height x4 PCIe card. The data flow processing is implemented by MALT-C cryptoprocessor, equipped with its own RAM, ROM, a few 10G interfaces and essential auxiliary ports (UART, JTAG, I2C, 1G Ethernet) for setup and management. An interface FPGA is used for the operation on PCI Express Gen2/3 bus.

 

Parameter Characteristic
Input/output interfaces PCIe Gen1/2/3 x4, 1000BASE-T, 10GBASE-T
Throughput capacity of the data over the network Up to 10 Gbps on any algorithm without linkage
Data encryption algorithm “Kuznechik”, “Magma”, AES 128, RC4, Salsa20, Chacha20, etc.
Power consumption, maximum Up to 20W in operation, 0.25W in standby mode
Scalability Possible connection of multiple boards to the host
Programming Fully programmable device in C language

 

 

 

An application based on MALT. Standalone network encoder

 

Another example is a standalone encoder. The equipment represents a standalone device for stream encryption on the Ethernet. There are two independent 10G Ethernet ports (the encryption carries out between them) used for connection to trusted and open network. The data flow processing is implemented by a MALT-C cryptoprocessor, equipped with its own RAM, ROM, two 10G interfaces and essential auxiliary ports (COM, JTAG, i2c, 1G Ethernet) for setup and management.

 

Parameter Characteristic
Purpose «10G Ethernet - 10G Ethernet» encryption
Throughput capacity of the data over the network Up to 10 Gbps on any algorithm without linkage
Data encryption algorithm “Kuznechik”, “Magma”, AES 128, RC4, Salsa20, Chacha20, etc.
Power consumption, maximum Up to 15W in operation, 0.2W in standby mode
Programming Fully programmable device in C language

 

 

 

The trusted blockchain solution

 

We are the first to design a russian chip for blockchain! And yes, it suits mining as well. If you’re interested in mining, feel free to contact us and we’ll tell you not only about our existing developed solutions concerning mining but promising cryptocurrency. Blockchain is not only mining. Blockchain is an approach, ensuring the data reliability kept on decentralized peer-to-peer network. No matter what operation is applied - transferring funds in Bitcoin, Ethereum contract execution or blockchain transaction - it always needs rapidity and power efficiency.

 

MALT-C processor family specifically developed for implementation of computationally complex cryptographical transformations, in particular, blockchain transactions with maximum of energy efficiency. By means of our processor you can provide trusted digital connection where the information and the data are successfully kept and transmitted with the use of blockchain technology and cryptographic tools certified in Russia. MALT-C processor family is low-power, so you can create a compact blockchain terminals, including embedded and portable ones. The equipment based on MALT architecture is guaranteed to be protected from software and hardware backdoors - you control both hardware and software! Who else in the world can make such a great offer to a domestic customer? By applying your own cryptographic algorithm on MALT-C, you can be sure that no one could hack the hash function by direct enumeration using the application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC). This way your blockchain system is securely protected.

 

 

 

Graphics card alternative

 

Nowadays graphics processors or GPU often find their use for the tasks which are not related to the computer-game visualization. It is connected with exceptional computing power of modern GPU containing thousands of computing elements, with advanced tools of GPU programming, and, what more important, with low cost. Nevertheless GPUs come as close as possible to universal processors, its essence is in graphics processing of computer games, because its architecture takes the whole potential and real productivity approaches to the highest level. As for other tasks, such as blockchain, big data and mathematical physics, their functionality is, on the one hand, excessive, because there is no floating-point operation in blockchain applications, on the other hand, insufficient, since the limited support for branching and random addressing in shared memory may reduce the performance by one or two orders of magnitude relative to theoretical limit in the ‘big data’ tasks.

 

There is a specialized solution: what if we create a chip, 80% of which will be composed of one-type computational elements designed ‘from scratch’ for a specified target class of tasks? What if we unite the computing elements into groups conducted by compact universal RISC processors united into computational array that to a programmer will look as a typical multi-threaded processor programmed on C/C++? We’ll get an extremely productive easy-to-use specialized processor! We designed three families of such processors and named the project ‘MALT’. Get more information about the architecture in the corresponding section.

Применения

 

Решение для потокового шифрования

 

Мы предлагаем уникальное решение, MALT-C, - программируемый на C/C++ чип с энергетикой встраиваемого микропроцессора, производительностью на Ватт на уровне современного ПЛИС на всех популярных потоковых шифрах и ценой универсального микропроцессора! Ни одного микропроцессора с подобными характеристиками ранее в России спроектировано не было!

 

Построенные на процессорах семейства MALT-C криптографические ускорители предназначены для использования в задачах симметричного шифрования, в том числе для потоковых шифров. Предпочтительной является многоканальная обработка. Наши процессоры построены на доверенной отечественной архитектуре. В конце 2017 мы получили с фабрики и успешно протестировали первые образцы MALT в «кремнии».

 

Посмотрите на характеристики: базовый кристалл, 160-ядерный MALT-C с индексом 7Mb160PLV, с частотой 1 ГГц и пиковым энергопотреблением 5 Вт в задаче шифрования AES128 обеспечивает максимальную пропускную способность 195 Гбит/c! (режим ECB, без учета подготовки ключа). На нем эффективно реализуется шифрование по стандартам ГОСТ 28147-89 ("Магма"), ГОСТ Р 34.11-2012 ("Стрибог") и ГОСТ Р 34.12-2015 ("Кузнечик"). Попробуйте MALT! Примените в своих разработках MALT-C вместо зарубежных ПЛИС и криптографических сопроцессоров! Подробное сравнение приведено в таблице ниже.

 

Таблица. Сравнение пропускной способности процессора MALT-C 7Mb160PLV с CPU, GPU и специализированными интегральными схемами на различных алгоритмах шифрования. Данные приведены без учета подготовки ключа, блочные шифры используются в режиме потокового шифрования. 

Алгоритм 7Mb160PLV
Гбит/c
CPU, Гбит/c GPU, Гбит/c ASIC, Гбит/с
ГОСТ Р 34.12-2015
“Кузнечик”
10 Intel Core i7-3537U(1)
0.12
NVIDIA GeForce GT750M (1)
2.2
 
ГОСТ 28147-89
“Магма”
120 Intel Xeon E5 2697 v3(2)
22
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750(2)
21.2
 
AES 128 195 Семейство Intel Xeon E5v2 (3)
50
NVIDIA GTX 1080(4)
280
 
RC4 160     Результат моделирования (5)
30.72
Salsa20 444   NVIDIA GeForce GTX 590(6)
43.4
 
Chacha20 364 Intel Core i7-6700(7)
19
  ChaCha-IP-13(8)
12.8

 

Примечания:

1) Увеличение скорости работы алгоритма шифрования «КУЗНЕЧИК» с использованием технологии CUDA.

2) Производительность ГОСТ-шифрования на х86- и GPU-процессорах.

3) AES-GCM Encryption Performance on Intel® Xeon® E5 v3 Processors.

4) High Performance CUDA AES Implementation: A Quantitative Performance Analysis Approach.

5) High-Performance Hardware Implementation for RC4 Stream Cipher.

6) New Speed Records for Salsa20 Stream Cipher Using an Autotuning Framework on GPUs.

7) AES-NI SSL Performance.

8) ChaCha-IP-13 / EIP-13 ChaCha20 accelerators.

Эти и другие источники вы можете найти в разделе Статьи.

 

 

 

Решение на MALT. Ускоритель потокового шифрования

 

Один из примеров аппаратного воплощения MALT - ускоритель потокового шифрования для шины PCIe. Предназначен для шифрования “на лету” данных, передаваемых по одному из трех направлений: PCIe -> 10G Ethernet, 10G Ethernet -> PCIe, PCIe -> PCIe, соответственно, может выступать как сетевой шифратор/дешифратор на шине PCIe или как ускоритель потокового шифрования для шины PCIe. Модуль представляет собой x4 PCIe карту половинной высоты. Обработку потока данных осуществляет криптопроцессор MALT-С, снабженный собственным ОЗУ, ПЗУ, несколькими 10G интерфейсами, необходимыми вспомогательными портами (UART, JTAG, I2C, 1G Ethernet) для настройки и управления. Для работы MALT-C с шиной PCI Express Gen2/3 используется интерфейсный ПЛИС.

 

Наименование параметра Характеристика
Входные/выходные интерфейсы PCIe Gen1/2/3 x4, 1000BASE-T, 10GBASE-T
Пропускная способность передачи данных по сети До 10 Гбит/с на любом алгоритме без зацепления
Алгоритмы шифрования данных «Кузнечик», «Магма», AES 128, RC4, Salsa20, Chacha20 и др.
Потребляемая мощность, не более До 20 Вт в работе, 0.25 Вт в режиме ожидания
Масштабируемость Возможно подключение нескольких плат на хост
Программирование Полностью программируемое на языке Си устройство

 

 

 

Решение на MALT. Автономный сетевой шифратор

 

Другой пример - автономный шифратор. Устройство представляет собой отдельно стоящий прибор, предназначенный для потокового шифрования в сети Ethernet. Для подключения к доверенной и открытой сетям используются два независимых порта 10G Ethernet, между которыми и производится шифрование. Обработку потока данных осуществляет криптопроцессор MALT-С, снабженный собственным ОЗУ, ПЗУ, двумя 10G интерфейсами, необходимыми вспомогательными портами (COM, JTAG, i2c, 1G Ethernet) для настройки и управления.

 

Наименование параметра Характеристика
Назначение Шифрование «10G Ethernet - 10G Ethernet»
Пропускная способность передачи данных по сети До 10 Гбит/с на любом алгоритме без зацепления
Алгоритмы шифрования данных «Кузнечик», «Магма», AES 128, RC4, Salsa20, Chacha20 и др.
Потребляемая мощность, не более До 15 Вт в работе, 0.2 Вт в режиме ожидания
Программирование Полностью программируемое на языке Си устройство

 

 

 

Доверенное блокчейн-решение

 

Мы первые спроектировали отечественный чип для блокчейна! Да, для майнинга он тоже подходит. Если вам интересен майнинг - напишите нам, и мы расскажем вам о разрабатываемых нами решениях для майнинга существующих сегодня и перспективных криптовалют. Но, блокчейн - это не только майнинг и в первую очередь это не майнинг. Блокчейн - это подход, гарантирующий достоверность данных, хранимых в децентрализованной сети равноправных узлов. Не важно, о какой операции идет речь, о передачи средств в Bitcoin или исполнении контракта в Ethereum, от блокчейн-транзакций, как всегда, требуется скорость и энергоэффективность. 

 

Семейство процессоров MALT-C специально разработано для выполнения вычислительно сложных криптопреобразований, в частности, блокчейн-транзакций с предельной энергоэффективностью. Благодаря нашему процессору вы сможете обеспечить доверенное цифровое взаимодействие, при котором информация и документы будут успешно передаваться и храниться с использованием технологии блокчейн и сертифицированных в России средств криптографии. Процессоры семейства MALT-C потребляют единицы Ватт, поэтому вы сможете создать компактные блокчейн-терминалы, в том числе встраиваемые или носимые. Оборудование на основе архитектуры MALT гарантировано защищено от программных и аппаратных backdoor’ов, здесь вы контролируете все от железа до ПО! Кто еще в мире может предложить такое отечественному заказчику? Применив свой собственный криптографический алгоритм на MALT-C, вы сможете исключить возможность использования специализированных интегральных схем (ASIC) для “взлома” хэш функции прямым перебором, защитив свою блокчейн-систему.

 

 

 

Замена графической карте

 

Сегодня все чаще графические процессоры или GPU находят своё применение для задач, не связанных с визуализацией в компьютерных играх. Это связано с исключительной вычислительной мощностью современных GPU, содержащих тысячи вычислительных элементов, развитыми средствами программирования GPU и, что очень важно, невысокой ценой. Однако, насколько бы GPU не становились похожи на универсальные процессоры, их стихия - обработка графики в играх, там их архитектура раскрывается на 100% и реальная производительность приближается к пиковой. На остальных же задачах, таких как блокчейн, большие данные и математическая физика, их функциональность, с одной стороны, избыточна, так как в блокчейн применениях не используется работа с плавающей точкой, с другой - недостаточна, так как ограниченная поддержка ветвлений и произвольной адресации в общей памяти может снижать на 1-2 порядка производительность в задачах класса "большие данные" относительно теоретического предела.

 

Напрашивается специализированное решение. Что, если создать чип, 80% которого занимают однотипные вычислительные элементы, спроектированные “с нуля” специально под заданный целевой класс задач? Вычислительные элементы объединить в группы, управляемые компактными универсальными RISC процессорами, объединенными в вычислительный массив, “выглядящий” для программиста как обычный, программируемый на C/C++ многопотоковый процессор? Мы получим удобный для программиста и исключительно производительный специализированный процессор. Мы спроектировали три семейства таких процессоров и назвали проект MALT. Читайте подробнее об архитектуре в соответствующем разделе.